Metal Levels

The ACA has attempted to make comparing different plans easier by requiring that every plan (except for Catastrophic plans, like our BlueChoice Young Adult Plan) fit into one of four categories, called metal levels. Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum plans all cover the same core benefits, but each level differs in how much your plan will pay towards your care. Different plans have different monthly premiums and varying out-of-pocket costs.

Cost Sharing by Metal Level

Metal LevelWhat the Health Plan PaysWhat You Pay
Bronze 60% 40%
Silver 70% 30%
Gold 80% 20%
Platinum* 90% 10%

Catastrophic plans, like our BlueChoice HMO Young Adult plan, are not included in one of the ACA's four metal levels.

See Plan Types for more information about Catastrophic plans.